Trouble on the Waterfront

By The Waterfront Collective

The 1951 waterfront dispute was an epoch in New Zealand history. It lasted for 151 days. Not only was it a struggle between the workers and the establishment, it was a struggle that raised serious questions about the importance of civil liberties during times of internal conflict.  The Waterfront Collective explores the events and the personal perspectives of this time through the songs from the album Trouble on the Waterfront. The album was awarded the Tui New Zealand Music Award for Best Folk album for 2009.

The Waterfront Collective: Andrew Delahunty, Bill Hickman, Chris Prowse, Dave Currie, Eva Prowse, Murray Kilpatrick, and Tessa Rain